Notes BOM for the Fictional VolunTier Project: My Spiritual Freedom

Posted on

Date: 11315 11515 11615
Notes BOM for the Fictional VolunTier Project: My Spiritual Freedom
By Goura Fotadar
Source:
THE BOOK OF MORMON
ANOTHER TESTAMENT OF JESUS CHRIST
Published by
The Church of Jesus-Christ of Latter-day Saints
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
First English edition published in
Palmyra, New York, USA, in 1830
1981, 2013 by Intellectual Reserve, Inc.

On pilgrimage, I met more than a few Mormon missionaries, in couple format: as in a couple of groups of two twenties men; and they provided me with help, and helped me get rides and also sometimes gave me food, when I was weak in energy from temporarily in moving periods having no shelter, and
no food.
So anyway, one of them handed me “The Book of Mormon,”  and I later got stranded in Maine, and then had to leave “The Book of Mormon” behind, and so I didn’t get the chance and/or opportunity to study it; if only a little bit:

So anyway,
I started on this past, and re-born opportunity recently,
and here are a few of my early notes:

(1)  From Location 255:
“9
And it came to pass that he saw One descending, out of the midst of heaven, and he beheld that his luster was above that of the sun at noon-day. “
This description of the Divine or Holy uses quite obviously the word “luster” which is defined as.
From “Dictionary.com as accessed on 11315”
noun
1.
the state or quality of shining by reflecting light; glitter, sparkle, sheen …”

I have to point out this word in the backdrop of a religious faith-based text, because it contradicts I hope the word “lust” which often is mentioned to me by others in my own practice and experience of faiths/spirituality, and I roughly quote some of their comments, in that:
“lust and envy are friends to one another, and also ‘normal’ experiences of good for those of them that are neither Divine nor Holy.”
In any case, I’d like to define lust here from the dictionary, in at least, the purpose of contrasting this to similarly sounding words in my own mind, and understanding. Quite in fact, is that one of them (not exactly envy), but rather lust falls inside of “luster” and then of course notice the following ‘e’ as if to tell us to look for a word connected to lust that is to begin with an ‘e’. Or anything of that sort, nature, blah …  (Personal exercise in word/meaning memory connecting to spirituality/faith: in other words : when hearing of lust, also remember its cousin envy, that both of which keep you from the quality of “luster” (as cited from the primary Source text quotation just before) “luster”  that of Holy, Divine and/or Heaven.)

(2)
“10
And he also saw twelve others following him, and their brightness did exceed that of the stars in the firmament.”
My earlier version of notes have somehow been deleted uhm I’ve been experiencing
a few issues with this current method at note-taking. I remember upon last
looking up this word “firmament” which apparently refers you to Heaven,
the connotation of a “vault” to Heaven reminds me of a bank and also a bank
robbery; and I’m not sure of the meaning of “vault” connected and/or defined by or near-to Heaven (and here’s the loop of meaning); however, it makes me think of security and/or a security
system of or Connected to Heaven. Though somewhere we hear about Angels
being persecuted we rarely hear about Heaven being broken into, if only the
in the mythological sense.

By the way, looking up the definition of “vault” in the dictionary: dictionary.com (as accessed on 11515), the fifth and sixth definitions match the descriptions I just provided of my imagined idea of a vault, and still, its connection in my imagination to Heaven, as cited in the primary and only book source text for this note segment:


5.
a room or compartment, often built of or lined with steel, reserved for the storage and safekeeping of valuables, especially such a place in a bank.
6.
a strong metal cabinet, usually fireproof and burglarproof, for the storage and safekeeping of valuables, important papers, etc.”

(3)
From Location 255:
” 16
And Now I, Nephi, do not make a full account of the things which my father hath written, for he hath written many things which he saw in visions and in dreams; and he also hath written many things which he prophesied and spake unto his children, of which I shall not make a full account.”   
This is a really good example of the difficulty involved in recording the spiritual experience on really any individual. How much do we record for the public, and how much do we keep to ourselves, and/or a few others. And, how much time do we have to record and make decisions about recording, in our lifetime or lifetimes. The backdrop of faith and/or spirituality puts at the forefront an issue of urgency in recording, that perhaps those of neither faith or spirituality and their intersection can hardly hope to understand.
Thoughts with regard to this dictionary’s word-of-the-day:
Maybe nine is a synonym for eleven (somewhere)
“Tuesday, November 3
Novem- means ‘nine’ in Latin, so why is November our eleventh month?  …”
Source/Reference: Dictionary.com and Dictionary.com’s “word-of-the-day” as accessed on 11.3.15

(4)
From Location 271:

19
And it comes to pass that the Jews did mock him because of the things he testified of them; for he truly testified of their wickedness and abominations; and he testified that the things which he saw and heard, and also the things which he read in the book, manifested of the coming of a Messiah, and also the redemption of the world.
20  
And when the Jews heard these things they were angry with him; yea, even as with the prophets of old, whom they had cast out, and stoned, and slain; and they also sought his life, that they might take it away.
But behold, I, Nephi, will show unto you that the tender mercies of the Lord are over all those whom he hath chosen, because of their faith, to make them mighty even unto the power of deliverance. “

As a being who wasn’t raised Christian, and just also being myself; and a practicing spiritual person, whatever that means; I don’t know exactly know how to participate in the first portion or even 2/3 of this quote, but I must add; that the entire quote in three paragraphs demonstrates to me the incredible ability of spiritual doctrine and/or faith-based doctrine to regulate the persecutory effect/affect of losing hope in that what: experience as your own faith and/or spirituality. At this point, I hope that that will suffice to be of enough explanation.

keepingup
keepingup
Leave a Reply

